Why did I decide to start this blog, and what is it going to be about? I guess this is really more of a question for me, the writer, just as much as for you, the reader, and it should probably be established in the first entry, so here we go:

A couple of people have told me that I should start writing down my thoughts, for various reasons. Here are a couple of key things about Tom, and these will be recurring themes throughout my time on this site.

I am probably slightly clinically depressed (I will NOT get all whiny on you, because that’s not me…but I may occasionally “vent.” Slight venting coming up). This state of mind is a combination of 2 factors. 

1.  I hate the place where I live. My wonderful wife and I (and I really do mean wonderful) bought a townhouse in April 2007. Just so we don’t miss any important points, I’ll repeat that: April 2007. That’s right about when the market was starting to flop. The place is underwater now, and we will never ever be able to sell it for what we bought it for. The neighborhood is not very great, but not terrible either. One of the main problems is sound. The soundproofing is awful, and bass heavy music penetrates the walls with no problem, especially when it’s being played by the inconsiderate moron lady next door. It’s not as frequent as it used to be, because I called the police about it before, but it still happens from time to time. The bigger problem, I guess, is that the people in that neighborhood just don’t seem to give a shit. They don’t seem to care about keeping the neighborhood nice, or give any thought to the future at all. It’s just not a great place to live. We have been there for 7 years, and I can’t think of a time when I’ve actually called the place “home.”  Maybe I’ve mentioned it in statements like “It’s time to go home,” sure, but I’ve never really thought of it in the traditional sense of the term “home.” 

I related this to my wife recently: I do not enjoy events that we go to as much as I should, because I know in the back of my mind that when the event is over, we have to go back to the house that we bought. I have no control over my environment there. I don’t know what we’re going to walk into when we get back. Will the neighbor’s “music” be at ungodly levels? Will there be children in our yard hitting the power transformer with a stick? Will there be police investigating a domestic disturbance? Will there be a random pitbull tied to a tree outside?  I DON’T KNOW!!!  By the way, all of those things have happened…some on a more frequent basis than others. It’s even worse when we have to go to an event that I don’t want to go to. I then have a crappy time at said event, and it’s even worse than it should be, because again, I know I have to go back to the environment that I have no control over.

We should be out of there soon, though. My wife graduated with her Master’s in Nursing very recently, and passed her boards. When she gets a job, we will be able to put this godforsaken house up for rent, and move to a better place. The silver lining here is that these townhouses are highly rentable, and we should have no problem finding a tenant. This process should ease my mental burden quite a bit.

2. My job is not fulfilling. Most people don’t like their jobs, I get that, but should it HAVE to be that way? The big problem is that I don’t really contribute to anything at all. I’m an analyst, and I sometimes work on spreadsheets, read over statements of work, proofread RFP’s, things of that nature. None of it means a damn thing. I got shifted to these responsibilities a few months ago, where before, I was in a role where I could actually sort of help people now and again, by teaching them how to use a certain system, and compiling useful reports for them. I’m not doing any of that now, and it sucks.  I like to be useful…to help people, and this role just doesn’t allow me to accomplish that. If “the Bobs” from Office Space asked me what I would say I do here, I might not be able to furnish them with an acceptable answer.

Q: Well then, what do we have when you can’t stand the place you live in, and you hate your job because it’s unfulfilling?

A: A big fucking problem, because you don’t like being “home,” and you don’t like being at work, either.

How does this guy get through each day? Well, it’s not as bad as it sounds, I guess. There is light at the end of the tunnel for our living situation, and I have started actively looking for more fulfilling employment. In the meantime, I do a few things that keep me sane, which will probably be most of the focus of this blog.

a. Health and Wellness/Fitness

I am a very active person. I usually will go to the gym at least three times a week, sometimes more. I lift weights, I box, and I run sprints. It gives me something to look forward to, gets me out of the house, and I feel good when I do it. People in the office have even started to come to me for advice sometimes, which is a good feeling, and it relates back to my desire to help people.

b. Golf

Love it. I am really not very good (mid 90’s player), but I am always trying to improve, and have taken lessons. I play as much as I can. “What a dorky choice for someone who sounds like an athletic type.” Opinions, etc. It’s something that I can do by myself, which is good, because I don’t really have many friends that play. I don’t know enough people to organize a weekly basketball or softball game. I can play it with my dad, and we’ll go out usually every week during the summer, and that’s good quality time. I’m finally getting to the point where I can beat the guy sometimes, too. I will be able to play it with my wife. I bought her a set of clubs last year; haven’t really taught her how to swing, because I have no business doing that. I am buying her lessons this summer, though, from someone who won’t mess her up terribly.  We plan on moving down to Virginia in a few years, and she’ll be taking over as my golfing buddy. You will definitely be seeing some posts on this subject…maybe pictures from courses that I go to (I go to 4, basically), and maybe random videos on game improvement that I come across.

c. Video Games

I don’t play as much nowadays as I used to, because I don’t often have the time. I do keep up with the bigger releases, though, and try to keep up on industry news. I am currently playing Battlefield 4 on the Playstation 4, and Mario Golf on the Nintendo 3DS (told you I love it). I may occasionally post some gameplay videos, or reviews of what I’m playing.

That’s kind of about it for now. I may be making a couple of retro posts in the next few days, since I just had a trip up to the Catskills, and I’d like to post a few pictures, but I thought it was important to get the introduction out of the way.

Thanks for reading, and there’s more to come!

